To join the meeting please follow the link:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89987042966?pwd=aGN0ZWJTeTRlTlBMTnNYdjBESE5QUT09
All timings are based on Eastern European Summer Time (EEST)

[London: EEST -2 hours, Berlin: EEST -1 hour, New York: EEST -7 hours, Los Angeles: EEST -10 hours, Buenos Aires: EEST -6 hours, Delhi: EEST +2:30 hours]

Friday 24/9/2021

15.30-15.45
Introduction: Linking Agriculture History with History of Science and Technology and STS

Stathis Arapostathis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

Sabine Clarke, York University, UK

15:45 17:45 Session 1
Imaginaries of Technoscientific and Societal Transformations

Chair/Commentator:

Chris Otter, Ohio State University

 

 

Karen Sayer, Leeds Trinity College University, UK

Cultures of Growth: the rhetorics of C20th food and farming

 

Les Levidow, Open University, UK

Divergent agri-food regimes in Latin America: techno-diffusionist modernisation versus solidarity technoscience

 

Lucia Lewowicz, University of the Republic in Uruguay, Uruguay

The epistemological status of extract of meat; science, technology, industry and globalization. A case study

 

Mary C. Neuburger, University of Texas at Austin, USA

Revolutionary Recipes: 20th Century Bulgarian Food Science

 

18:00-19:00 Plenary 1
“Animal Machines? The transformation of livestock farming in Britain, c.1920-1980”

Abigail Woods, Lincoln University, UK

Saturday 25/9/2021

11:00-12:30 Session 2
Fertilizers and Pesticides in Food production

Chair/Commentator:

May-Brith Ohman Nielsen, University of Agder

Sabine Clarke, York University, UK

Science and Storage: Protecting Markets for Colonial Commodities after 1945

 

Sotiris Alexakis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Technoscientific networks and chemicalization of wheat crop in Greece, 1925-1981

 

Jose Ramon Bertomeu and Ximo Guillem-Llobat, Valencia University, Spain

Rural Films on Pesticides in Spain (1910-1950): Agnotology, agronomic programs and the making of the pesticide treadmill

 

13:00-14:30 Session 3
Science Politics and Public Policies in Food production

Chair/Commentator:

Stuart McCook, University of Guelph

 

Rebecca Kaplan, Oklahoma State University, USA

Fighting Foot and Mouth in North America

 

Kostas Vattes and Stathis Arapostathis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Constructing ‘Quality’ Fish: Greek Aquaculture in the Making, 1980-2010

 

Alexandros Vakoulas, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Networks of expertise and knowledge in defense of quality, authenticity, and safety of olive oil in Greece since 1950

 

16:00-17:30 Session 4
Technoscientific Rationality and Politics of Expertise

Chair/Commentator:

Chris Henke, Colgate University

Ryan Nehring, Cornell University, USA

Techno-tropicalismo: The Politics of Agronomic Knowledge and Vegetable Production in Brazil

 

Zeynep Akcakaya, Independent Scholar

Locusts, Scientific Knowledge and Centralizing State in Ottoman Anatolia at the end of the Nineteenth Century

 

Florencia Aracibia, National University of San Martín (CONICET), Argentina

Social movements, expert networks and networks of expertise in Argentina’s pesticide conflict

 

Plenary 2 18:00-19:00
“Abundance and its Discontents: Food, Agriculture, and Capital”

Deborah Fitzgerald, STS MIT, USA

Sunday 26/9/2021

12.00-13.30 Session 5
Colonial, Postcolonial and International Agri-food Networks

Chair/Commentator:

Prakash Kumar, Penn State University

Harro Maat, Wageningen University

Colonial science and global food: Dutch expert networks and international dependencies of food production in the Netherlands

 

Poonam Pandey, Department of Science and Technology-Centre for Policy Research (DST-CPR), Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Are some histories worth repeating? Policy design and practice of ‘Bringing Green Revolution to Eastern India (BGREI)’

 

Karin Zachmann, Technical University of Munich

Semantics of biofacts: Introducing nuclear agriculture in Africa

 

15:00-16:30 Session 6
Re-inventing Food and Taste

Chair/Commentator:

Helen Ann Curry, University of Cambridge

 

Soumya Vinayan and N. Lalitha, Gujarat Institute of Development Research (GIDR), India

Food and Tradition: The Heritage Story of Hyderabadi Haleem from India

 

Martin J. Ivanov, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia

Transforming the Bulgarian food system – from organic food production to re-inventing traditional food technologies

 

Stathis Arapostathis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

Omics, Technoscientific Networks and the Assetization of Food in Greece

 

17:00-18:30 Session 7
Environment, Infrastructures, Resource Management

Chair/Commentator:

Erik van der Vleuten, Eidhoven University of Technology

 

 

Klara Strecker and Frank Veraart, Eidhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

From Africa with love… (and a tremendous ecological footprint), the development of rose trade between Kenya, The Netherlands and the rest of the world, 1960-2020

 

Maurits Ertsen, TUDelft

Trees Beside Running Water Give More Fruit: Cash and food crops in colonial irrigation efforts

 

Abeer Abazeed, Leiden University

Network-making power of global water think tanks in Nile politics

 

19.00-19.30
Conclusions – Discussion – Publication plans

 

Scientific Committee:

Stathis Arapostathis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Sabine Clarke, York University, UK

Organizing Committee:

Sotiris Alexakis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Stathis Arapostathis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Sabine Clarke, York University, UK
Alexandros Vakoulas, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Kostas Vattes, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

LIST OF SPEAKERS & PARTICIPANTS

Abeer Abazeed, Leiden University, Netherlands a.r.y.abazeed@fgga.leidenuniv.nl
Zeynep Akcakaya, Independent Scholar zeyneptk@gmail.com
Sotiris Alexakis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece sotalx@gmail.com
Stathis Arapostathis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece arapost@phs.uoa.gr
Florencia Aracibia, National University of San Martín (CONICET), Argentina florenciapaulaarancibia@gmail.com
Jose Ramon Bertomeu, University of Valencia, Spain jose.r.bertomeu@uv.es
Sabine Clarke, York University, UK sabine.clarke@york.ac.uk
Maurits Ertsen, TUDelf, Netherlands m.w.ertsen@tudelft.nl
Deborah Fitzgerald, STS MIT, USA, dkfitz@mit.edu
Harro Maat, Wageningen University, Netherlands, harro.maat@wur.nl
Rebecca Kaplan, Oklahoma State University, rebecca.kaplan@gmail.com
Les Levidow, Open University, UK, l.levidow@open.ac.uk
Lucia Lewowicz, University of the Republic in Uruguay, Uruguay lewowicz@gmail.com
N. Lalitha, The Gujarat Institute of Development Research (GIDR), India, lalithanarayanan@gmail.com
Ximo Guillem-Llobat, University of Valencia, Spain ximo.guillem@uv.es
Ryan Nehring, Cornell University, USA rln53@cornell.edu
Martin J. Ivanov, Institute of Philosophy and Sociology, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia, Bulgaria, martin.j.ivanov@gmail.com
Mary C. Neuburger, University of Texas at Austin, USA burgerm@austin.utexas.edu
Poonam Pandey, Department of Science and Technology-Centre for Policy Research (DST-CPR), Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, ppoonam@iisc.ac.in
Prakash Kumar, Department of History, Penn State University, puk15@psu.edu
Karen Sayer, Trinity College Leeds, UK, k.sayer@leedstrinity.ac.uk
Klara Strecker, Eidhoven Technical University, Netherlands, k.strecker@tue.nl
Alexandros Vakoulas, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece avakoulas@phs.uoa.gr
Kostas Vattes, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece, kvattes@phs.uoa.gr
Frank Veraart, Eidhoven Technical University, Netherlands, f.c.veraart@tue.nl
Soumya Vinayan, Council of Social Development, Hyderabad, India, soumyavinayan@gmail.com
Abigail Woods, University of Lincoln, UK, awoods@lincoln.ac.uk
Karin Zachmann, Technical University of Munich, Germany Karin.Zachmann@mytum.de
May-Brith Ohman Nielsen, University of Agder, Norway, may-brith.o.nielsen@uia.no
Stuart McCook, University of Guelph, Canada, sgmccook@uoguelph.ca
Chris Henke, Colgate University, USA, chenke@colgate.edu
Chris Otter, Ohio State University, USA, Otter.4@osu.edu
Helen Ann Curry, Cambridge University, UK, hac44@cam.ac.uk
Erik van der Vleuten, Eindhoven Technical University, Netherlands, E.B.A.v.d.Vleuten@tue.nl